BidSlammer Forum My BidSlammer Dashboard >>

BidSlammer Forums >> Help & Troubleshooting

"eBay lag"

Posted: Dec 02 2009 10:14 AM

I've been using BidSlammer for over 5 years and have never lost a snipe due to "eBay lag" until recently. All of a sudden in the last few weeks I've lost around 10 or so this way. What is the real story here? I no longer have confidence that BidSlammer works and I'm getting tired of losing auctions.

Posted Dec 02 2009 10:14 am by Gu***st

I appreciate the opportunity to explain this. Remember the eBay crash last week? Too much traffic and they haven't entirely fixed it yet, based on what I'm seeing. I will explain.

The "eBay lag" message means it is not our fault, as you know from our blog stuff, the hard part of sniping is to catch errors and report correctly to the customer. (If the miss is our fault, such as a late bid, the system DOES honestly report that it is our fault.)

Snipe bid placed: 21:00:06

eBay finished bid placement: 21:00:20

The item ended: 21:00:16

See? We placed the bid on time, in fact TEN SECONDS early instead of our usual five, to account for the holiday season.

But eBay took TWENTY SECONDS to process the bid!

Specifically, the snipe time was accurate. It's like if you bid manually, and click the submit button in your browser, and it takes 10 seconds.

You are getting more of these in the last few days because eBay is taking longer to process their bids. There is no way around this. If we make the snipe time 20 seconds, someone will beat you manually and you would be even more upset. We have systems running in multiple cities, even.. it doesn't help. If eBay is slow, then that's all you can do.

Note, 4 of the 6 snipes where you got this error, the bid was too low anyway.

The good news is that eBay seems to have fixed the problem as I am seeing much better response times today.

Posted Dec 02 2009 09:24 pm by Gu***st